Diary of a Real Mama

One mom's endeavour to become an authentic woman of God

Allie’s Chili

on January 28, 2015

With temperatures dipping as low as -25°C, the weather where I live has got me seriously wanting to hibernate. But unlike last year when I was at home with two infants, that’s not really an option this year. So I have to settle for some delicious comfort food to keep me warm instead. One of my favourite ways to warm up on a cold winter’s evening is with a tasty bowl of chili. Now, some would argue that you don’t need a recipe for chili. And while I consider myself a decent cook, I’m not so good that I can make it up as I go along and expect it to turn out ok J I love this recipe because it’s not too spicy, so my kids can eat it too. It’s amazing paired with this cornbread (I add 2 tbsp lemon juice to give it just a hint of flavour). Bon appetit!

Ingredients:

1lb ground beef

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 large green pepper, diced

1 cup frozen corn

1 can (540mL) black beans or navy beans, drained and rinsed

1  can (796mL) no added salt diced tomatoes

1 can (398mL) no added salt tomato sauce

2 tbsp chili powder

1/2 tbsp cumin

1/8 tsp granulated garlic

1/8 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Brown ground beef and onions in a large non-stick pot. Add remaining ingredients and simmer about one hour. Serves 4. You can easily double the recipe and freeze some for another cold night!

IMG_8868

Just make sure you have a big enough pot before doubling the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

