Diary of a Real Mama

One mom's endeavour to become an authentic woman of God

No Other Gods

on January 24, 2015

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve written a blog post. I started this blog with big expectations and the best of intentions. And then life happened. By the time I found myself with a spare minute at the end of the day I was way too tired to string two coherent thoughts together. All you mamas know what I mean. But it’s a new year and I felt it was time to breathe some fresh life into this thing. It’s actually hard for me to be posting this on January 24th. I’ve mentioned before that I’m wired as a type A, so of course I wanted to get this new post published January 1st. But when I think about it, all I really want to do is to share my thoughts and reflections in the hope that they might bring encouragement and insight to others, and I can do that whether it’s January 1st, or January 24th, or the middle of July.

I’ve been reading a great devotional my husband gave me called Jesus Lives by Sarah Young. In it she shares the concept that idols are things we turn to when we want to feel better about ourselves. And that shook me up a bit. I tend to think of idols in the archaic sense, as man-made forms of wood or clay. Or perhaps in a more modern but tangible way, like expensive cars or jewelry. But I just so ‘happened’ to read this right before I was about to sit down and draw up a list of my goals for 2015 and a strategic plan to achieve them (Type A, remember?). And it dawned on me that ideals can become idols when we pursue our goals with more passion than we pursue God. I was convicted to take a serious look at what was motivating me. I believe that God has designed my personality in such a way that I thrive on setting and accomplishing goals. But more often than not, this process is little more than an elaborate ploy to bolster my self-esteem by ticking off the boxes each month. I realized it would be better not to set any goals at all rather than to have them become idolatrous pursuits. What I really want is to invest my time and energy into fulfilling biblical commands, things like growing in my salvation and knowledge of the Lord (1 Peter 2:2, 2 Peter 3:18), taking care of my physical health (1 Corinthians 6:20), and using my experiences to provide encouragement to others (2 Corinithians 1:3-4).

I don’t want to give the false impression that I’ve got this all figured out and won’t slip back into old habits from time to time. But I’m trying to remember that I’m not out to prove anything. When I want to feel better about myself, the only place to turn is to the One who made me and gives me worth.

2 responses to “No Other Gods

  1. janet says:

    i think i will check out that devotional myself Alison 🙂 God has truly given you a gift with writing .

Leave a Reply

