Diary of a Real Mama

One mom's endeavour to become an authentic woman of God

Time for a Change

on January 1, 2014

The proverbial Christmas rush is through and we are on the brink of new beginnings. I’ll admit the Type A in me always relishes the opportunity afforded by January 1st to write out a long list of goals complete with action plans and time frames for how to improve on the current version of me. With a new year fast approaching, I found myself coming up with all sorts of grand plans for 2014 – exercise more, eat less junk food, keep a diary, read more non-fiction. Another year, another variation of the same old, same old.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10:38-42. These sisters are hosting Jesus in their home and Martha gets all bent out of shape because she’s been left to do all the cooking and cleaning and hostess-y things while Mary sits and listens to the teachings of her Lord. But instead of telling Mary she should be helping her sister, Martha gets a reality check when Jesus tells her that Mary’s the one who has her priorities straight. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m all too much like Martha, who worried and fussed about many things. You know, really important things like whether there’s so much as a piece of lint on the carpet, a dirty dish on the counter, or a book out of place on the shelf. I told you I was a bit Type A!

This year as I was mentally preparing my resolutions for the coming months I knew I had to be a bit more realistic.  I have six month old twins and setting a long list of goals is likely setting myself up for failure. And I was hit by the thought “Why not pick just one thing?”One important thing. I can get so caught up in doing good things, Martha-type things, that I often miss out on the best things. I want to be like Mary, who chose the right thing, the better part.

For me this year, that thing is prayer. I have been incredibly blessed by the prayers of others, especially a few people in my life I would consider to be prayer warriors. I’ve always wanted to be more like them, and as I’ve contemplated what’s been holding me back, I’ve realized it is largely because I’ve been focusing on far too many things of no eternal significance. What will it matter in the end how clean my house is or how many Pinterest projects I’ve completed? Will it really matter if I’ve got a bit of tricep jiggle? I give my time and energy to good things while missing out on the best things.

I know that I can’t change on my own. But the good news is that the power of the Holy Spirit is available to me, so I don’t have to rely on my own strength on those days that I just don’t feel like it. I won’t always get it right but part of successfully meeting goals is to expect setbacks and know they don’t have to derail your entire plan.

I hope you too will be inspired to reevaluate your priorities and that 2014 will be a year where you refuse to let the good things interfere with your pursuit of the best things.

One response to “Time for a Change

  1. Janet says:

    Alison, thanks for this! I have been feeling the exact same way. God has given you a gift with words 🙂 janet

Leave a Reply

